I don’t ask you why you don’t eat your damn vegetables!

I am sick of being asked why  decided to be vegetarian. Almost 2 years ago, I decided to slowly remove meat from my diet. First few weeks, I stopped eating beef, the I quit pork. It was difficult to give up chicken and fish (I blame the sushi bar for this!), so that took a good few months to let go.

I think I started being vegetarian during lent of 09. I decided that my Lenten sacrifice would be giving up meat altogether. Labeling it a “sacrifice”, the fact that I had a reason for it made it easy. And whenever anyone asked me why I wasn’t eating meat, the answer came easy: it was my Lenten sacrifice. And all their questions almost always ends there.

The annoying questions started after lent. Lent was over, I should be done with my sacrifice… but I felt like I have already endured 40 days and didn’t really crave meat. I began to like the diet. (And don’t get me wrong, it’s not like vegetarianism was some impulsive idea or lifestyle that I just suddenly decided to do. I always wanted to try it and know what it’s like to not eat meat. Just because!) Anyway, so people have since all too often asked me this question: WHY? The answer isn’t easy. I don’t have a clear, solid tangible, logical explanation as to why. I really don’t aside from the fact that it makes me feel good; it makes me feel healthy. Partly, because I am trying to avoid my fat and hypertension genes. Am I an animal activist? No. Not yet. Really, just because I decided to quit eating meat, doesn’t mean I’m an angry PETA activist!

“Thou shouldst eat to live; not live to eat.” – —  Socrates

About denisedenies

I am, but I deny.
This entry was posted in life, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I don’t ask you why you don’t eat your damn vegetables!

  1. Mr E says:

    David Attenborough once stated that if “man” hadn’t started eating meat, we’d still be swinging from the trees, looking for nuts. . .

  2. Staci says:

    It’s so interesting that I stumbled here from “We Make Zines”, since I was planning to write a zine on just this topic. I’ve been in transition to vegetarianism for the past few months and only a few weeks ago stopped eating fish. People are always trying to convince me to eat some meat, asking me, “How do you get protein?” or “Why don’t you eat meat again?” And I never have a clear answer, not even when I ask myself. It’s almost like an endurance test, since I want to eventually be vegan within the next few years. Anyway, good luck with your meat-less endeavors!

    • denisedenies says:

      thanks! and if you ever need help with the zine like contributions and stuff, don’t hesitate to ask. :)

      also, yeas i get frustrated with those questions from people. i mean meat isn’t the only protein source…

Leave a Reply

